Championship Facts



Championship Dates

September 9-14, 2017


Schedule of Events

Click here for a complete schedule of events.


Championship Venue

Waverley Country Club, Portland, Oregon


Course Architect

H. Chandler Egan (renovations by Gil Hanse in 2012)



132 players



Click here for information on how to qualify for the Championship.



The low 64 scorers following stroke play will qualify for match play. If necessary, a playoff will be conducted to determine the final spots in the draw.



The 2017 U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Championship is open to any female

amateur who has reached her 50th birthday by September 9 and whose Handicap Index does not exceed 18.4.





2016 Championship

Ellen Port, 55, of St. Louis, joined an exclusive fraternity of seven-time USGA champions with her 3-and-2 victory over Andrea Kraus, of Baltimore, Md., at Wellesley (Mass.) Country Club. Port won her third U.S. Senior Women's Amateur title and her seven titles equaled such luminaries as Carol Semple Thompson and Anne Sander.


Notable Past U.S. Senior Women's Amateur Champions

Maureen Orcutt (1962, 1966); Carolyn Cudone (1969-72); Dorothy Porter (1977, 1980-81, 1983); Alice Dye (1978-79); Marlene Stewart Streit (1985, 1994, 2003); Anne Sander (1987, 1989-90, 1993); Carol Semple Thompson (1999-2002); Diane Lang (2005-06, 2008); Ellen Port (2012-13, 2016)


About the USGA

The USGA conducts 13 national championships each year, which are the most prestigious competitions of their kind. They include the U.S. Open, the U.S. Women’s Open and the U.S. Senior Open, as well as 10 strictly amateur competitions, like the U.S.  Senior Women’s Amateur.


© Copyright 2017 Waverley Historic Foundation

Photography courtesy of Waverley Country Club and the United States Golf Association